Reality is kicking in …

“We live in a wonderful world that is full of beauty, charm and adventure. There is no end to the adventures that we can have, if only we seek them with our eyes open.”

It’s only been a week since my last blog post, but in that time reality has really started to hit that I’m about to uproot myself for an entire year – or longer. Don’t get me wrong I’m not second guessing it AT ALL, but everything feels a little bit more real…

Since I last posted I have applied for my 12 month working visa and it was granted literally within a few hours … £255 down, but I guess it’s pretty necessary in order for me to actually survive out there. Reality still hadn’t hit when it was granted.

It only really started to hit, strangely, when I was constantly seeing people ‘checking in’ to airports on my Facebook newsfeed. Then I started to think about how in a couple of months’ time that’s going to be me… On my own, chugging down the alcohol to suppress the nerves of flying. Then once I started to think about that, I realised that I was saying ‘in a couple of months’. Eeek.

I made myself a big notice over the weekend that I’ve pinned up on my wall: it’s all my calculations of how much I need to save each month from both of my jobs and then how much will be left to make up to get to my goal amount. I’ve got about £300 to make from any extra money made from slug and lettuce, any tips, and any furniture/clothes that I’m selling. I’m thinking that’s do-able… Watch this space. I’ve also calculated how many weekends I’ve got left of working two jobs (because let’s face it, I’m already exhausted and it’s only been a month!)…. FYI I have 10 weekends left. Again, eek.

My eldest cousin David has also been a huge help to me the last couple of months, he was the first family member to go out to Oz and NZ to live and work so I’ve been quizzing him like there’s no tomorrow about anything and everything (if you’re reading this David, there will be more to come .. sorry in advance!) I can’t thank him enough for his help and his offer of security in case anything goes wrong out there… It’s like having a big brother looking out for me! All of my family have been great actually – everyone’s telling me they’re excited for me, and my uncle even has a contact for me if I need someone out there for whatever reason. Fingers crossed I don’t.

But the BIG thing that’s really made it sink in is the fact that I’m selling pretty much everything I own to make up this extra money. My clothes have gone on eBay and my furniture is all over face book, if there’s something you need… Chances are I’m selling it. I was working out when I need my furniture out of the house and that’s when it dawned on me, it all needs to be gone in the next three weeks. THREE WEEKS! Then I’m cleaning the house, and moving in to my temporary address for a month. This is the last rent amount I’m paying, and it’s my last full month of living there. A final ‘eek’ please.

So yeah, it’s finally started to kick in that this is really happening. I’ve already started to miss everyone and I’m not even gone yet. If anyone would like to come and give me a hug and maybe some chocolate to calm me down, that would be great.

Leave a Reply

