My 2016 round-up

Well that’s it for 2016…in ten and a half hours. As you have probably guessed from all of my previous posts, this year has been an incredible year for me: I’ve visited places and done things that not everyone in this world gets to do, and I feel so proud for doing them. So what did I get up to over the last 365 days? Here’s a list (because who doesn’t love a list?)

  • I saw in the New Year with a group of people that became my family while I was in Melbourne: dancing around like idiots in a park, watching the fireworks over the city.
  • I spent my first full day of 2016 dancing around like an idiot again at ‘Sounds like summer’: a street party in the middle of Melbourne CBD.
  • I moved into an apartment in Richmond
  • I watched my first ever tennis game at the Australian Open
  • I celebrated ‘Australia Day’ raving to Fat Boy Slim next to the ocean
  • I walked the streets of Melbourne for 8 hours looking at light installations for ‘White Night’
  • I got dressed all fancy for the Melbourne Races
  • I witnessed my first ever surfing competition with a picnic on the beach
  • I watched my first (and then second and third) AFL game
  • I ate the world’s best croissant (apparently)
  • I visited Perth and went wine tasting in Swan Valley
  • I went to Fremantle and had the best fish and chips I’ve ever had in Oz (not the best fish and chips ever though!)
  • I visited Rottnest Island and spent the day cycling around to different secluded bays (and got a selfie with a Quokka)
  • I camped in the Outback, sleeping under the stars around a campfire
  • I saw Ayers Rock
  • I rode a camel
  • I hiked Kings Canyon for the sunrise
  • I fed a crocodile
  • I ate crocodile
  • I held a crocodile
  • My working visa in Australia ended
  • I went to the monkey sanctuary, visited temples and walked around rice paddies in Ubud
  • I paddle boarded (and by paddle boarded I mean basically just sat on the board because I could barely balance) in Gili Trawangan
  • I sat and got a photo on that swing everyone gets a photo on in Gili T
  • I ate a Michelin meal for $6 in Singapore
  • I very nearly missed the light show at the Gardens by the Bay in Singapore (but I didn’t!)
  • I got so drunk in Kuala Lumpur that I didn’t get to go sightseeing the next day, I only saw the Petronas Towers
  • I did the street art trail in Georgetown in Penang and had the best Indian food I’ve ever had in Little India
  • I watched a weird festival parade where men were in a trance, balancing big poles through their cheeks (they were genuinely THROUGH their cheeks!)
  • I nearly died of dehydration hiking the jungle in Penang National Park
  • I watched a ladyboy cabaret show in Koh Tao
  • I snorkelled, multiple times
  • I ate some of a scorpion on Khao San Road
  • I visited ancient temples in Ayutthaya
  • I spent a day with elephants in Chiang Mai
  • I went to a pool party
  • I drove a scooter for the first time around Pai
  • I visited the White Temple in Chiang Rai
  • I got scammed at the border of Myawaddy in Myanmar
  • I visited the Shwedagon Pagoda in Yangon
  • I hung out with, and drank mojitos with, a bunch of strangers on 19th street
  • I trekked from Kalaw to Inle Lake
  • I witnessed the full moon celebration when staying overnight in a village
  • I drank red wine and ate blue cheese for the first time in ages while watching the sunset at Red Mountain Winery in Inle Lake
  • I cycled in the dark
  • I hand rolled a cigar
  • I canoed around a floating village
  • I watched a dragon boat race
  • I drove an e-bike around Bagan to visit temples
  • I sailed into one of the most beautiful sunsets I’ve ever seen
  • I took a Myanmar cooking class
  • I visited Maya Bay for sunrise (The Beach), went snorkelling, swimming, and visited monkey bay
  • I taught English at Buddhist and Muslim schools in Bangkok for two weeks
  • I ate maggots, frog and insects in China Town
  • I visited numerous beautiful waterfalls
  • I visited the River Kwai bridge
  • I took a trip on an old thai train
  • I went to some floating markets
  • I spent my 26th birthday in Dubai with my bestie
  • I roadtripped to Oman and slept under the stars in a boat before seeing dolphins for the first time
  • I flew back to London and spent a couple of days with my bestie, uni girls, and a friend I met while doing my farm work
  • I surprised my family when I returned home
  • I spent christmas with my family for the first time in two years

As you can see, 2016 is going to be a hard year to top … but I’ll give it my all!

Leave a Reply

